What are Chakras?

17 Sep

The Chakras are energy and often described as spinning vortexes, interpreted as a spinning wheel located throughout the human body. The main seven energy points begin at the base of the spine working their way until the crown of your head. Each chakra has a different role and impact on your life and consciousness. If a chakra is blocked, unbalanced or restricted then this may present in different ways. I am going to give a basic explanation as to the 7 Chakra points.

1st Chakra (Root Chakra)

This energy point is your connection to the Earth. It is where our survival instincts comes from, our need for food, shelter, sex and warmth. If this Chakra is unbalanced it could cause fear, foggy thinking and instability.

Crystals that can help with grounding are, Smokey Quartz, Black Onyx, Black Obsidian, Garnet.

2nd Chakra (Sacral Chakra)

The Sacral Chakra is located in the Naval area. It is responsible for pleasure. Should this area be overactive or underactive then it can manifest in issues around trust, attachment, guilt, hypersensitivity and feelings of being disconnected.

Tigers Eye, Citrine or Carnelian are a good choice for balancing this Chakra.

3rd Chakra (The Solar Plexus)

Your emotions are influenced here, this Chakra governs the emotional body. If this is balanced and working effectively you will have harmony and vitality, self-esteem, a positive outlook and accept yourself for who you are.

My go-to crystal for this chakra is Yellow Calcite.

4th Chakra (The Heart)

Rose Quartz and Jade resonate nicely with the Heart Chakra and promote love, self-trust, self-compassion, compassion and love to others and positive friendships. When this is nicely in tune others will be drawn to you, they will feel your empathy and kindness. This Chakra is for unconditional love.

5th Chakra (The Throat)

The Throat Chakra is important as this may not only influence the Thyroid but also your ability to speak confidently, honestly and without fear of no power of control.

Lapis Lazuli or Sodalite are good stones for this energy point.

6th Chakra (3rd Eye)

If you want to expand your intuition, spiritual insight, become connected with a higher state of consciousness then this is the Chakra for you. The 3rd Eye, often known as the Pineal Gland, is said to hold the information for a new vision. If this is restricted then it is said to show its self in headaches, vision problems, to name a few.

Amethyst and Herkimer Diamonds are my recommended for this Chakra.

7th Chakra (Crown)

Two crystals that can be used in this area Amethyst and Clear Quartz. By balancing this energy point you will have enlightenment, understanding and appreciation. Should this be unbalanced or restricted it is said to cause depression, anxiety or fear, to name a few.To use crystals to balance your Chakras, there are several ways that this can be done. Sit with your crystals and meditate, use visualisation techniques to clear the blockage, listen to a guided meditation (Jason Stephenson is fabulous)!, Chakra clearing tones, yoga, crystal yoga, walking in nature to ground yourself.



* The email will not be published on the website.